Michelle Bennett of Cleantechnica.com with the latest on solar concentrators coupled to solar panels: “We already know that concentrated solar power (CSP) is shaking things up in the solar industry. A subset within the industry is turning up the heat. “Extreme” Concentrated solar magnifies intense sunlight onto a solar cell, at temperatures that could melt it, to boost efficiency for less money.” and “Sunrgi hopes to bring their product to market in about a year, so we’re not talking about pipe dreams. These guys are serious, and they’re out to make some money at 5 cents/kwh. But fortunately for us all, this technology is not new, and Sunrgi is not the first to point a magnifying glass at a solar panel. The Aussies beat us to it.”

read more | digg story

Technorati Tags:, , , , , , , ,
Generated By Technorati Tag Generator

  1. Just saw your post at Hugg.com.

    It would be great if this technology will be valid and the sooner the better but we have to see it working commercially.

  2. Certainly true. It may end up being more-suited to large installations, or it may not work well enough for the marketplace, but I think it is important to see this kind of innovation continuing to appear. Anything that helps drive solar power forward in the US will help encourage distributed, personal systems and cleaner energy of all kinds, I believe. Thanks for the comment!

  3. I know that GG&E (the Australian co.) already has their product on the market. They’ve even set up “franchises” around the world, and they’ve placed some impressive orders for high-quality solar panels. I just wish their website provided more information.

  4. PS:

    The Korean website (http://www.essystem.kr/) is an excellent example of Korean marketing culture. I assume the swirly animation represents “cute” solar energy.

  5. Thanks Michelle!

  6. Hi all great information here and good thread to comment on.

    I am an adict to training and really want to get to my best this year!

    Can I ask though – how did you get this picked up and into google news?

    Very impressive that this blog is syndicated through Google and is it something that is just up to Google or you actively created?

    Obviously this is a popular blog with great data so well done on your seo success..

  7. Hi Martialarts:

    Thanks for your kind comments. I have to admit that I’m not sure how this article ended up on Google News (I didn’t know it was there). This blog is syndicated via blogburst.com and a number of the stories have been re-published at the websites of some major news organizations, including Reuters, local papers in a few major American cities (Atlanta, Austin, Chicago and more) and other sites.

    Although I have read about search engine optimization (seo) and use some methods recommended by various blogs, etc., I don’t feel I know much about that side of things and have mostly focused on content. A few places I have used to engage other people in the discussion include stumbleupon, blogcatalog, facebook, gather.com, blogflux, and DIGG. Many of the other sites I have tried seem to be focused on seo and monetization, so I don’t pull in many readers from them because my content isn’t a good match for their readership- I don’t blog about blogging, though I appreciate those who do.

    Reading ad being supportive of related blogs has been one way to expand my readership. I’m also finding that a lot of readers come to this site from a range of searches, for example of wordpress.com tags, google itself, or technorati tags. Some readers also come from my fiction blog (http://nearlynothingbutnovels.blogspot.com/ , which I’ve been neglecting lately). I’m grateful to those who take the time to read my blogs, and to those who comment.

    Best of luck, Jim

  8. Thanks. You may use my blog as a source for your own work, but as with all sources, please be sure to cite it properly in your paper. Probably, you have guidelines for preparing the citations. You should be aware, as should all students, that it is now common practice for teachers to Google search text from students’ papers to see if the work was plagiarized from a source available on the internet. Thanks for your interest and good luck with the paper.

  1. 1 Solar Power goes to Extremes for 5cents per Watt | Solar Powered Cars . Net

    [...] Michelle Bennett of Cleantechnica.com with the latest on solar concentrators coupled to solar panels: “We already know that concentrated solar power (CSP) is shaking things up in the solar industry. A subset within the industry is … Read More [...]

  2. 2 HomemadeSolarPower

    homemadesolarpanels…

    I enjoy your texts a great deal. This is the reason I would like to use them in my paper, if it is ok for you. I am interesting in that topic. Please, say YES. I warmly thank you….




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

